Chakras: Spinning wheels

What are chakras?

The word chakra comes from Sanskrit. It means “wheel of light. Chakras are energy and movement.

Prana, the breath, life; in certain major parts of our body is constantly spinning to keep us active and alive. The spinning or rotating nature of Prana made these parts of the body centers of energy (Chakras).

Chakras could also be defined as a revolving wheel of energy that propels you through life.

Although the chakras are not addressed at school, they are just as important for your health and well-being as our physical organs. The main difference is that these organs are fully part of our physical body, while energy organs – which include the chakras – are at the interface between the tangible and the spiritual reality.

Let me tell you a short story about chakras in the 90s.

Back in the 90s, when I started studying Kundalini Yoga (KY), nobody really knew or heard about Chakras. I still remember asking my teacher what the chakras were, and I also remember going to some place where some guy was going to “align” my chakras. He did something with energy, but it was far from “activating” my chakras, I didn’t know it back then, I was learning, and I was only 17 years old.

Today, the concept of Chakras is closely attached to the energy. The energy within us, which is also manifested in the whole universe.

The Universe is referred to as a system of many elements acting or fused together to function as a unit.

According to Hinduism and Tantric Buddhism, just like the Universe; our body itself is believed to be made of five core elements Water, Earth, Fire, Air, and Space.

Why are chakras important?

Chakras are important because they maintain the connection between the physical and the spiritual planes of our being.

Just as our body organs are part of your physical body, our energy organs (chakras), are the link between your inner spiritual reality and your tangible body.

A chakra affects not only the surrounding parts of the body but also a variety of emotional, mental, and spiritual processes.

The Chakras are located along the in spine; from the tail bone/coccyx to the top of the head. We will explore them one by one in future blogposts.

Chakras are gaining more and more recognition and popularity. I noticed it in social media as well as in the classes I teach. My students know or want to know about chakras and many KY series are specially designed per chakra.

Be ready for the kriyas “per chakra” sessions I am preparing!

Is Kundalini Yoga and Kundalini snake (energy) the same?

Is Kundalini Yoga and Kundalini snake (energy) the same?

The Vedic and Tantric writings, which are one of the oldest in the world, state that the Kundalini snake is curled up at the base of the spine when is asleep. It sits there, at the level of the coccyx until it is awakened. According to the Vedic and Tantric writings, the Kundalini snake is described as a pulsating light, red in color, that climbs up into our physical body.

When the Kundalini awakens, it climbs up along energy channels that are part of our energetic anatomy. Since energy is vibration and information, the Kundalini brings the energy of the body, mind, and soul in a movement.

Kundalini Yoga is a technology that allows you to experience Kundalini snake (energy) awakening.

The Kundalini energy moves initially through the energy channels that run along the spine; these channels are named Nadis. While this happens, the chakras “turn-on”, in other words, become activated.

When and while this happens, Kundalini energy passes three nodes or “Granthis” which are nodes in a canal. These nodes stored certain life lessons.

Once we have learned the lessons stored in our Granthis, the Kundalini energy can continue flowing its way.

What type of life lessons are we talking about?

It could be issues from the past which are stored in our chakras and could also form blockages there. As we allow emotions, question ideas, and face physical problems we have ignored; the Kundalini energy can continue its flow.

Where is the Kundalini energy going or flowing to?

When we work on being open to the lessons in our granthis and activate our chakras, we become aware of hidden problems and can tackle them easier.

As Kundalini eventually reaches the top of our head and penetrates the “crown chakra” we reach the state of enlightenment. This can be achieved by meditation and Kundalini Yoga practice.

7 chakras we usually know in yoga are located along the spinal cord. It’s so because the flow of energy along the spine is intensified due to the 3 main nadis Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna.

Each of the 7 chakras is represented by the lotus flower having a certain number of petals. In a chakra, the number of petals of the lotus flower shows different small Nadis (nadikas) meeting at that chakra. The vibratory sound of a particular chakra is determined by the intensity of Prana flowing through nadis forming chakra. And this sound is represented by a Sanskrit letter written on petals of a particular chakra.